San Juan County Library-Public Services Policy (Updated March 2019)
Free access to all resources of the San Juan County libraries will be granted to patrons with an active, unrestricted San Juan County library card issued by any of our libraries. Any person, with or without a library card, is allowed access to the library facilities and have in-house use of the resources. All library users must comply with the library rules and regulations. All non-cardholder
library users must be 18 years or older or, if under 18, must have an adult family member or guardian present.
Residents of San Juan County may apply for a library card by completing and signing an application and complies with the following requirements:
Provide valid photo identification proving that you are over 18 years of age and proof of a San Juan County, Utah mailing and/or residential address
An applicant who is under 18 years of age must have a parent or legal guardian present to sign the application who must have identification and proof of a San Juan County,
Utah mailing and/or residential address, or have a valid SJC Library account
A non-resident of San Juan County may be eligible for a non-resident card based on seasonal or temporary work or residence in a near-by area.
There is no charge for the initial card. There is a $1.00 fee for a replacement card.
Children under 18 years of age are allowed ‘Computer Use Only’ cards, with signed parental permission. Visitors over the age of 18 are allowed computer use at any time; visitors under 18 must have an adult accompanying them who can give verbal permission.
Library patrons will be responsible for updating all personal information related to their library card (i.e. name changes, address, telephone, etc.) This can be done with a librarian at the circulation desk.
Most materials will be circulated for 21 days (with the option of 2 renewals). Circulation procedures differ due to limited collections at some our smaller libraries. The circulation policies are listed below:
Blanding and Monticello:
Books and Audio Books – 21 days
DVDs and Magazines – 7 day checkout ~ 7 DVD limit
New Books and New Audio Books – 14 day checkout
Resident Maximum checkout – 25 items
Non-residents maximum checkout - 2 items
Satellite Branches (Bluff, Montezuma Creek & LaSal)
Books and Audio books– 21 day checkout
DVDs - 21 day checkout ~ 5 DVD limit
Resident Maximum checkout – 10 items
Non-residents maximum checkout– 2 items
Renewals may be requested in person or over the phone and may be available if the material is not already overdue and is not on hold for another patron.
A patron wishing to reserve any material that is currently checked out or otherwise unavailable may do so by consulting a member of the library staff in person, via email or by phone.
The library is under no obligation to notify patrons of overdue library materials. Phone calls may be made as a reminder of overdue items. Also, as a courtesy, the library may send written notices of overdue items to patrons as the time and resources of the library permit. The first
notice will be a reminder that indicates the replacement cost of the item(s). The second and final notice will notify the patron of the cost(s) of the item(s), and suspend all library privileges until all matters on the account are complete.
Delinquencies, Fines and Other Charges
The patron (i.e.cardholder), is responsible for the care and return of materials checked out from the library. Parents or legal guardians are responsible for materials checked out by minors in their care. Patrons are responsible for maintaining the library materials they check out in reasonable condition during the time that they have the materials in their possession. Reasonable condition is defined as normal wear and usage of library materials. Patrons who intentionally write upon, injure, deface, dog-ear, tear, cut, mutilate, destroy, or otherwise damage library materials will be billed for the replacement cost of the item. All patrons with items overdue longer than 30 days, and those with unpaid fines, will have their library privileges suspended until items are returned and/or fines are satisfied, unless otherwise noted on the patron’s account.
A patron who keeps an item 3 months beyond its due date will lose all library privileges and will receive a bill for the cost of the overdue item(s). Library privileges may be restored once the offense has been resolved.
Patrons may be charged for all lost materials. They may be billed the replacement cost of the item. Refunds may not be given for lost items that may be found later by the patron.
Exceptions may be made by the librarian or library director and not by assistant librarians.
B&W: .20₵ per side Color: .50₵ per side
Fax: .50₵ per page to send or to receive. Free cover sheet-no charge for sending/receiving
Scanner: no charge (unless printing)
Disc cleaner - $1.00 per disc
Photo paper - $1.00 per page
Laminating - .50₵ per ½ page $1.00 per full page
Additional Facilities use
Room rental is available during normal library hours at the Blanding and Monticello branches. Rental fee is $15/hour, plus a refundable deposit of $30 if food and beverage plan to be served. Cash or check only. Reservations required.